Skip to Content
  • Facebook
  • Twitter
  • Flickr
  • YouTube
Search Again » Mississippi County Home

Mississippi County

Mississippi County was created November 1, 1833, of territory cut from Crittenden County and was named for the mighty river forming its entire eastern boundary. Osceola was the original county seat, but Blytheville became the seat of justice for the northern section in 1870 that created dual county seats. The landscape of Mississippi County is flat, fertile, Delta farmland. The economy is made up of diversified farming and light manufacturing. Cotton Boll Vocational and Technical School and Mississippi County Community College offer a variety of educational experiences. Mississippi County Community College was the first solar-powered college in the nation. Big Lake National Wildlife Refuge is the oldest federal refuge in Arkansas and offers good hunting and fishing. Both courthouses are unique. The Blytheville courthouse building features a lot of marble with mahogany woodwork, the Osceola Courthouse building features colorful, baked stone tile, marble and wrought iron staircases. The first floor is windowless and designed to be protected from possible flooding from the Mississippi River. History from early times in the county is stored in both locations.

Cities in Mississippi County

Bassett  |  Birdsong  |  Blytheville  |  Burdette  |  Dell  |  Dyess  |  Etowah  |  Gosnell  |  Joiner  |  Keiser  |  Leachville  |  Luxora  |  Manila  |  Marie  |  Osceola  |  Victoria  |  Wilson

County Facts

Population: 51,979

Contact Information

Blytheville, AR 72315

Phone: (870) 763-3212

Fax: (870) 763-0150

Web Site: Web Site

School Districts

Online Services

State Online Services