Skip to Content
  • Facebook
  • Twitter
  • Flickr
  • YouTube
Search Again » Marion County Home

Marion County

Marion County was created November 3, 1835, from Izard County, first called Searcy County, was renamed in 1836 in honor of Francis Marion, a Revolutionary War General. Yellville is the county seat. Prior to its occupation by white settlers, this County Seat was an Indian village. It is one of the oldest settlements in Arkansas and has been under the flags of Spain, France, the United States, the Confederate States of America, the Territory of Louisiana, the Territory of Missouri, and the Territory and State of Arkansas. The landscape of Marion County is the rugged and mountainous, Ozark Mountains, inhabited for years by bluff-dwelling Native Americans and, later, by European settlers. One third of the county is under water that offers many water activities. Ranger Boat and Flippin Bass Boat Manufacturers are located in the county. Part of the Buffalo River runs through the county and features camping, hiking, canoeing, hunting, and fishing. The Lower Buffalo Wilderness Area is the state's largest wilderness area. Bull Shoals Lake has 19 parks scattered around its 1,000 mile shoreline. The Ozark villages are populated by crafters from spring to late fall that brings a large number of visitors to this area.

Cities in Marion County

Bull Shoals  |  Flippin  |  Pyatt  |  Summit  |  Yellville

County Facts

Population: 16,140

Contact Information

Highway 62
Yellville, AR 72687

Phone: (870) 449-6231

Web Site: Web Site

School Districts

State Online Services