Skip to Content
  • Facebook
  • Twitter
  • Flickr
  • YouTube
Search Again » Clay County Home

Clay County

Clay County was formed on March 24, 1873, from parts of Randolph and Greene counties. It was named for Senator James M. Clayton. After moving the county seat several times, officials finally settled on two county seats, as flooding on the Black and Cache Rivers often made passage impossible from one side of the county to the other. Clay County is unique in that it is surrounded on two sides by Missouri and two sides by Arkansas. It has two courthouses that are almost identical in appearance. The courthouse in Corning is in a residential area whereas the courthouse in Piggott is located in the center of town. The Black River divides the county. For many years, the only way to get from one of its courthouses to the other in the spring term of court, which normally occurred while the river was at flood stage, was to ride the railroad to Poplar Bluff, Missouri, spend the night, and catch the morning train to the other county seat, arriving late the second day. The major economy comes from general farming and raising livestock. Rice is the major crop, followed by cotton, soybeans, corn, hay, and milo. Light industry is scattered around. Two rivers, the Cashe and the Black River offer many recreational sports such as duck hunting and fishing, horseback riding along the trails, hiking and picnicking.

Cities in Clay County

Corning  |  Datto  |  Greenway  |  Knobel  |  McDougal  |  Nimmons  |  Peach Orchard  |  Piggott  |  Pollard  |  Rector  |  St. Francis  |  Success

County Facts

Population: 17,609

Contact Information

2nd Street
Piggott, AR 72454

Phone: (870) 598-2667

Web Site: Web Site

School Districts

Online Services

State Online Services