Skip to Content
  • Facebook
  • Twitter
  • Flickr
  • YouTube
Search Again » Searcy County Home

Searcy County

Searcy County was created in 1838, from a part of Madison County and was named for Richard Searcy, a pioneer in Arkansas Territory. The landscape of Searcy County is rugged Ozark Mountains. Marshall is the county seat. Searcy County is the "Heart of the Buffalo National River" with approximately 48 miles of America’s first national river! The county is home to approximately 8,000 residents. Agriculture, timber, and tourism are key drivers of the local economy. The county is promoted as "Your Authentic Ozarks Family Playground." Searcy County is the "Chocolate Roll Capital of the World," and the "Elk Hunting Capital of Arkansas." Tourists come for antiquing, agritourism, autumn foliage, bicycling, camping, canoeing and kayaking, caving, festivals, genealogy, hiking, horseback riding, motorcycle roads, museums and music, night skies, outdoor photography, "barn" quilt trail, restaurants and bakery, rental cabins, rock climbing, rodeos, and waterfalls! In addition, the Kenda Drive-In movie theater in Marshall is a "bucket list" experience for old and young alike!

Cities in Searcy County

Big Flat  |  Gilbert  |  Leslie  |  Marshall  |  Pindall  |  St. Joe

County Facts

Population: 8,261

Contact Information

U.S. Highway 65
Marshall, AR 72650

Phone: (870) 448-3554

Web Site: Web Site

School Districts

State Online Services