Skip to Content
  • Facebook
  • Twitter
  • Flickr
  • YouTube
Search Again » Miller County Home » Texarkana Home » Local News » Events » Documents » Photos


Why? Texarkana is really two cities where State Line Avenue joins Texarkana, AR with Texarkana, TX; twin cities located
in two sates and named for three.

Another of our famous mottos: Texarkana is “Twice As Nice?, appropriately conveys the political structure here. There are two of most everything: two city mayors, two city governments, two police departments, and two fire departments.

Texarkana is a thriving metro-center serving nineteen counties in four states. A diversified economy is supported by manufacturing, agriculture, medical, transportation, and retail. Residents and visitors alike enjoy the moderate climate
and a variety of recreational and entertainment activities.
Who named Texarkana is up for debate. The popular version credits Colonel Gus Knobel who surveyed this section for the Iron Mountain Railroad right-of-way from Little Rock. The story goes that Colonel Knobel wrote Tex-Ark-Ana on a board and nailed it to a tree and remarked that this was the name of the town which was going to be built here.
Here's the rest of the story in case you're wondering. Colonel Knobel reckoned he was at or near the spot where the borders of three states met. So he named the city after these states - Texas, Arkansas and Louisiana.
We welcome you to discover our very unique city! A visit to Texarkana reveals a host of historic treasures; ten annual festivals; entertainment from performing arts, stock car races, hockey, and art exhibits; shopping; great outdoors and sports; wonderful restaurants; and a heaping of “Southern Hospitality!?

City Officials

Position Name
Mayor Allen Brown
City Manager Kenny Haskin
City Clerk Heather Soyars
Financial Director TyRhonda Henderson
District Judge Wren Autrey
City Attorney George Matteson
Police Chief Bob Harrison
Fire Chief David Fletcher
Director Of Public Works Tyler Richards
Street Superintendent Tim Carter
Water Superintendent J.D. Phillips
Code Enforcement Officer Brian Nolte
Information Technology Director Kevin Davenport
Parks, Recreation Director Adam Dalby
City Director Laney Harris
City Director Steven Hollibush
City Director Barbara Miner
City Director Travis Odom
City Director Terri Peavy
City Director Linda Teeters
Human Resources Director Melissa Edwards

City Facts

County: Miller

Population: 29,919

Senate District: 11

House District: 1,2

Congressional District: 4

Classification: First Class City

Contact Information

P.O. Box 2711

Phone: (870) 779-4991

Fax: (870) 774-3170

First and Third Monday

Web Site: Official Web Site


School Districts

Online Services

State Online Services