Skip to Content
  • Facebook
  • Twitter
  • Flickr
  • YouTube
Search Again » Prairie County Home

Prairie County

Prairie County was formed on November 25,1846, and was named for its most obvious physical characteristics. The county lies on a spread of level land between the lower White and Arkansas rivers that is known at the Grand Prairie as early at 1819. The landscape is rich, flat, delta farmland, with rolling hills in the extreme northwest corner. The county has dual seats, Des Arc and DeValls Bluff. The economic base of the county is agriculture, cotton and rice, soybeans, wheat, and catfish, along with agriculture-related commerce and some industry. The scenic White River makes its way through the county, past both County Seats, on its way to the Mississippi River. Near the center of the county the Wattensaw Wildlife Management Area, 17,433 acres, spreads westward from the White River. Fishing, hunting and camping is poplar in this area. In the north of the county are Cypress and Des Arc Bayous, Lake Des Arc, Spring and Horn Lakes and part of the Cache River and to the south, LA Grue Bayou and Peckerwood Lake which covers 4,000 acres. All of these waterways offer good fishing and a wide variety of water recreation. The stately courthouse at Des Arc is a 1913 Georgian architecture and the Courthouse at DeValls Bluff is a 1939 Quasi-Georgian architecture. Both house early history of Prairie County.

Cities in Prairie County

Biscoe  |  Des Arc  |  DeValls Bluff  |  Hazen  |  Ulm

County Facts

Population: 9,539

Contact Information

200 Court Square
Des Arc, AR 72040

Phone: (870) 256-3741

Web Site: Web Site

School Districts

State Online Services