Skip to Content
  • Facebook
  • Twitter
  • Flickr
  • YouTube
Search Again » Greene County Home » Paragould Home


Paragould started when two new railroads were built in Arkansas back in 1882. It was the St. Louis and Iron Mountain Railroad, later known as the Missouri Pacific and the Texas and St. Louis later renamed the Cotton belt. Paragould was founded where the two railroads crossed and the town was incorporated on March 3rd, 1883. Paragould has several old houses, among others, a courthouse from 1888.
The name Paragould comes from combining the names of Jay Gould and J.W. Paramore, two railroad presidents at the time.
Paragould today has a population of 22,500 and is a manufacturing center pf the north east.

City Officials

Position Name
Mayor Mike Gaskill
City Clerk Andrea Williams
Financial Director Teresa Stormes
District Judge Dan Stidham
City Attorney Allen Warmath
Police Chief Todd Stovall
Fire Chief Kevin Lang
Director Of Public Works Terry McAbee
Sanitation Superintendent Tony Pemberton
Street Superintendent Wayne Ellenburg
Code Enforcement Officer J.D. Stephenson
Parks, Recreation Director Pat Austin
City Treasurer Georgia Rogers
Communications Director Michael McCammon
Council Member Randy Aden
Council Member Josh Agee
Council Member Jeremy Biggs
Council Member Jackie Branch
Council Member Farrell Gibson
Council Member Charles Long
Council Member Mark Rowland
Council Member Susan Willams
Human Resources Director Tisha Baldwin

City Facts

County: Greene

Population: 26,113

Senate District: 20

House District: 56,57

Congressional District: 1

Classification: First Class City

Contact Information

P.O. Box 1175

Phone: (870) 239-7500

Fax: (870) 239-7509

Second and Fourth Monday

Web Site: Official Web Site


School Districts

Online Services

State Online Services