Skip to Content
  • Facebook
  • Twitter
  • Flickr
  • YouTube
Search Again » Independence County Home » Newark Home


City Officials

Position Name
Mayor Brian Barber
Recorder/treasurer Joanne Langston
City Attorney Joe James
Fire Chief Michael Powell
Street Superintendent Johnnie Dunegan
Water Superintendent Adam Owens
Wastewater Superintendent Adam Owens
Parks, Recreation Director Harry Wood
Council Member Robbee Brown
Council Member Jim Cunningham
Council Member Kyle Garner
Council Member Marty Goings
Council Member Larry Langston
Council Member Charles Skaggs

City Facts

County: Independence

Population: 1,176

Senate District: 19

House District: 63

Congressional District: 1

Classification: Second Class City

Contact Information

P.O. Box 315
NEWARK, AR 72562

Phone: (870) 799-2663

Fax: (870) 799-3102

Second Tuesday

Web Site: Official Web Site


School Districts

Online Services

State Online Services

Contact Us
Arkansas Municipal League
Our Mission

The Arkansas Municipal League was founded in 1934 and exists for a threefold purpose:

  • to act as the official representative of Arkansas cities and towns before the state and federal governments;
  • to provide a clearinghouse for information and answers; and,
  • to offer a forum for discussion and sharing of mutual concerns.