Skip to Content
  • Facebook
  • Twitter
  • Flickr
  • YouTube
Search Again » Drew County Home » Monticello Home


The city of Monticello was founded in 1849 and is presumably named after the Virginia home of President Thomas Jefferson. Also, many early settlers in Drew county were families who were originally from Virginia. The town was incorporated in 1852, and is the home of the University of Arkansas at Moniticello.

City Officials

Position Name
Mayor Jason Akers
City Clerk Taryn Wigley
District Judge Bruce Anderson
City Attorney Whit Barton
Police Chief Carlos Garcia
Fire Chief Eric Chisom
Director Of Public Works Charlie Hammock
Water Superintendent Wayne Morphis
Code Enforcement Officer Brian Rodgers
Utility Manager Andrea Chambers
Parks, Recreation Director Gerald Sheperd
Council Member Claudia Hartness
Council Member Michael James
Council Member Cedric Leonard
Council Member Craig McRae
Council Member Clarissa Pace
Council Member Al Peer
Council Member Mark Tiner
Council Member Michael Wigley
Finance Director Vickie Norris

City Facts

County: Drew

Population: 8,442

Senate District: 26

House District: 9,10

Congressional District: 4

Classification: First Class City

Contact Information

P.O. Box 505

Phone: (870) 367-4400

Fax: (870) 367-4405

Fourth Tuesday

Web Site: Official Web Site


School Districts

Online Services

State Online Services