• Facebook
  • Twitter
  • Flickr
  • YouTube
Search Again » Faulkner County Home » Mayflower Home


The city of Mayflower is located in the middle of an area known as Muskogee Silt Loam, originally belonging to the Choctaw Indians. The Choctaw sold this land to the U.S. Government and moved to a reservation north of Conway. The earliest settlers arrived about 1778 and settled near the mouth of Palarm Creek. This area provided wood to feed the maws of the railroad steam engines until 1893. The railroad established a telegraph termination (designated "Mayflower") for the use of the railroad superintendent in his Pullman car. This is how Mayflower got its unique name. The trains made regular stops at Mayflower Station until 1931.

The development of Lake Conway was a boon to the Mayflower community. Lake Conway, covering 6700 acres, is the largest Game and Fish Commission lake in Arkansas and offers some of the best bass, catfish,bream, and crappie fishing anywhere. The Game and Fish Commission maintains several free public launch areas, and boat rental is available at commercial docks.

Mayflower (Pop. 2000) is located between Conway and Little Rock on Interstate 40. This location affords a quiet rural life-style minutes from colleges, universities, hospitals, theaters, shopping malls,fine dining, arts and culture. Located between the Arkansas River and Lake Conway, Mayflower is a great place for sportsmen, outdoorsmen, and nature overs.

City Officials

Position Name
Mayor Randy Holland
Recorder Barbara Mathes
Financial Director Dale Carter
District Judge David Reynolds
City Attorney David Hogue
Police Chief Robert Alcon
Fire Chief Josh Woods
Director Of Public Works Barbara Mathes
Street Superintendent Jimmy Johnson
Water Superintendent Raymond Arnold
Wastewater Superintendent Raymond Arnold
Code Enforcement Officer Ed Kocher
City Treasurer Crystal Hatfield
Communications Director Angela Patterson
Council Member Stacin Dawson
Council Member Will Elder
Council Member Mark Hickman
Council Member Jennifer Massey
Council Member Andrew Pelkey
Council Member Brian Williams

City Facts

County: Faulkner

Population: 2,234

Senate District: 15,35

House District: 40,72

Congressional District: 2

Classification: Second Class City

Contact Information

P.O. Box 69

Phone: (501) 470-1337

Fax: (501) 470-0543

Fourth Tuesday

Web Site: Official Web Site

Email: cityofmayflower@gmail.com

School Districts

Online Services

State Online Services

Contact Us
Arkansas Municipal League
Our Mission

The Arkansas Municipal League was founded in 1934 and exists for a threefold purpose:

  • to act as the official representative of Arkansas cities and towns before the state and federal governments;
  • to provide a clearinghouse for information and answers; and,
  • to offer a forum for discussion and sharing of mutual concerns.