Skip to Content
  • Facebook
  • Twitter
  • Flickr
  • YouTube
Search Again » Pulaski County Home » Jacksonville Home


The valley where Prairie Grove is located was settled in the later 1820's. The first white person to live there was Tom Wagnon and he settled by a spring. But in 1929 Reverend Andrew Buchanan came to Prairie Grove because he had heard of the spring. Tom Wagnon said that he would give the pastor the land in exchange for two good redemption sermons.
After receiving the land, Reverend Buchanan built a church by the spring and people started to settle in the area. The first post office was built in 1840 and was always referred to as Sweet Home post office. It was closed down and a new one, ADA Post office, was opened. It was first years later that the name Prairie Grove was come up with when a young girl died, and her parents wanted her to be buried in the cemetery in the, as they said, grove of trees on the prairie.
in 1865 one of the last important battles of northwest Arkansas took place here. It was a very bloody battle where more than 2,500 people died and was a mayor defeat for the confederacy.
The spring that the church was built by and where locals for a long time came to meet each other is where todays down town Prairie Grove is located.
The town was incorporated in 1888 and today it has a population of about 3,000.

City Officials

Position Name
Mayor Bob Johnson
Clerk/treasurer Susan Davitt
Assistant To Mayor Michelle Lewis
Financial Director Cheryl Erkel
District Judge Rita Bailey
City Attorney Stephanie Friedman
Police Chief Joseph McCollough
Fire Chief Alan Laughy
Director Of Public Works Jimmy Oakley
Sanitation Superintendent Randy Watkins
Street Superintendent Hal Toney
Water Superintendent Jake Short
Wastewater Superintendent Thea Hughes
City Engineer Jay Whisker
Code Enforcement Officer Kelly Smiley
Director Of Administration Jim Durham
Director Of Community Development Theresa Watson
Information Technology Director Scott Rothlisberger
Parks, Recreation Director Kevin House
Acting Official Joseph McCollough
Council Member James Bolden
Council Member Les Collins
Council Member Barbara Mashburn
Council Member Reedie Ray
Council Member Terry Sansing
Council Member Gary Sipes
Council Member Tara Smith
Council Member Mike Traylor
Council Member Mary Twitty
Human Resources Director Charlette Nelson

City Facts

County: Pulaski

Population: 28,364

Senate Districts: 29,30,34

House Districts: 37,40,41,42,43

Congressional Districts: 1,2

Classification: First Class City

Contact Information

P.O. Box 126

Phone: (501) 982-3181

Fax: (501) 985-0168

First and Third Thursday

Web Site: Official Web Site


Online Services

State Online Services