Skip to Content
  • Facebook
  • Twitter
  • Flickr
  • YouTube
Search Again » Faulkner County Home » Conway Home


The City of Conway was founded by A. P. Robinson, who came to Conway shortly after the Civil War. Robinson was the
chief engineer for the Little Rock-Fort Smith Railroad (now the Union-Pacific). Part of his compensation was the deed
to a tract of land, one square mile, located near the old settlement of Cadron. When the railroad came through, Robinson
deeded a small tract of his land back to the railroad for a depot site. He laid off a town site around the depot and named
it Conway Station, in honor of a famous Arkansas family.

Conway was designated the county seat of Faulkner County in 1873, the same year that the county was created by the legislature.
In October, 1875, Conway was incorporated and, at that time, had a population of approximately 200.

For many years Conway flourished as a trade center for a large rural agricultural area. Hendrix College was established in
Conway in 1890. Three years later, in 1893, Central College for Girls was established, and Conway was on its way to becoming
an educational center. The University of Central Arkansas was founded in Conway in 1907 as the Arkansas Normal School. Its
economy was firmly established upon agriculture and the educational institutions until World War II.

After the war, diversification of the economy was started by Conway businessmen, and several small industries were attracted
to Conway. Subsequently, additional state institutions were located in Conway, including the headquarters for the Office of
Emergency Services, the Human Development Center, and the Arkansas Educational Television Network.

City Officials

Position Name
Mayor Bart Castleberry
City Clerk Michael Garrett
Assistant To Mayor Felicia Rogers
District Judge Charles Clawson
City Attorney Charles Finkenbinder
Police Chief William Tapley
Fire Chief Mike Winter
Director Of Public Works Spencer Clawson
Loss Control Director John Maddox
Sanitation Superintendent Joseph Hopper
Street Superintendent Jacob Reynolds
Code Enforcement Officer Spencer Clawson
Animal Control Shona Osborne
Economic Development Director Shawanna Rodgers
Grants Administrator Robbie Alberson
Information Technology Director Sean Canady
Parks, Recreation Director Steve Ibbotson
Chief Of Staff Jack Bell
Communications Director Bobby Kelly III
Council Member David Grimes
Council Member Andy Hawkins
Council Member Sheila Isby
Council Member Theodore Jones, Jr.
Council Member Mark Ledbetter
Council Member Shelley Mehl
Council Member Anne Tucker
Council Member Cindy Webb
Finance Director Tyler Winningham
Human Resources Director Lisa Mabry-Williams

City Facts

County: Faulkner

Population: 64,134

Senate District: 15,35

House Districts: 40,65,67,70,72

Congressional District: 2

Classification: First Class City

Contact Information

1111 Main St., Ste. 102
CONWAY, AR 72032

Phone: (501) 450-6100

Fax: (501) 450-6145

Second and Fourth Tuesday

Web Site: Web Site


School Districts

Online Services

State Online Services