Skip to Content
  • Facebook
  • Twitter
  • Flickr
  • YouTube
Search Again » Columbia County Home

Columbia County

Columbia County was formed December 1852, from parts of Lafayette, Hempstead, Union, and Ouachita counties. Columbia was named from the time of the American Revolution and refers to the new American nation, derived from Christopher Columbus. The county seat is Magnolia. The stately old courthouse surrounded by the large magnolia trees is a landmark. Each year Columbia County holds a Magnolia Festival that brings people from far and near to enjoy the activities. Columbia County is rolling hills with good land for farming and forests for timbering and cotton as a cash crop. Cattle and poultry are raised throughout the county along with pine tree harvesting. Industry provides most jobs in the county. Southern Arkansas University is located in the county and Logoly State Park is situated on 345 acres of forested coastal plain with 11 natural springs, a visitor center and amphitheater. Lake Columbia, the newest reservoir, is separated into zones, some for fishing, some for pleasure boating, and some with multiple facilities available for recreation.

Cities in Columbia County

Emerson  |  Magnolia  |  McNeil  |  Taylor  |  Waldo

County Facts

Population: 25,603

Contact Information

1 Court Square
Magnolia, AR 71753

Phone: (870) 235-3774

Fax: (870) 235-3773

Web Site: Web Site

School Districts

Online Services

State Online Services