Skip to Content
  • Facebook
  • Twitter
  • Flickr
  • YouTube
Search Again » Clark County Home

Clark County

Clark County was formed in 1818. Its boundaries changed five times before reaching the present location in 1877. It was named for William Clark, Governor of the Missouri Territory and partner on the Lewis and Clark expedition. The county seat is Arkadelphia. The landscape of the county is hilly terrain in the north, and rolling, pine-covered hills in the south. Agriculture, manufacturing, and tourism comprise the economic base. DeGray Lake, located in the northern part of the county, along with DeGray State Park, attracts visitors from far and near and offer a wide variety of recreational activities. More than half million people visit the park annually. Two Universities, Ouachita Baptist and Henderson State, are located in Arkadelphia that is the county seat. The 19th century courthouse, along with a large area of businesses and dwellings, sustained heavy damage during a March 1, 1997, tornado, however, Clark County reports itself to be progressing steadily in restoration on all fronts.

Cities in Clark County

Amity  |  Arkadelphia  |  Caddo Valley  |  Gum Springs  |  Gurdon  |  Okolona  |  Whelen Springs