Skip to Content
  • Facebook
  • Twitter
  • Flickr
  • YouTube
Search Again » Little River County Home » Ashdown Home


Ashdown was first known as Keller and was located in a area that the locals called Turkey Flats. The town lay by the crossing of the Peytonville- Richmond Road and the Texarkana- Fort Smith railroad. A railroad lawyer, Lawrence Alexander Byrne, realized how valuable the land would be from a transport point of view, so he bought 80 acres. On his land he built several sawmills in the area. The sawmill that he owned in Keller burned down, and according to the legend Byrne said: "The mill has burned down and is in ashes, but I am going to build a town here and call it Ashdown". And that is how the town got its name. It should also come to knowing that Byrne's mother was from Ashdown, England.
Keller Officially changed name to Ashdown in June of 1892 and after that families and businesses started coming to the little town. Just nine years later the town already had a population of 400 and its own brick bank and steam gin.
In the beginning of the 20th century Ashdown was a gathering point for a lot of loose people and it was becoming a big problem, as the town got a reputation as lawless. The Saloons were forbidden in 1903 which helped a lot. In 1910 Ashdown had a population of 1,500 and kept growing to 2,200 by the time the great depression. As the Nekoosa-Edwards Paper Plant was established in Ashdown in 1968 new job opportunities were brought to the town which led till yet another growth of the population and in 1990 the population of Ashdown was about 5,200.

City Officials

Position Name
Mayor Trey Cobb
Clerk/Treasurer Kirk Mounts
City Attorney Eric Bishop
Police Chief Boyd Kennemore
Fire Chief Steve Jones
Sanitation Superintendent Brandon Johnson
Street Superintendent Mickey Bishop
Water Superintendent Jason Tomlinson
Code Enforcement Officer Mark Ardwin
Parks, Recreation Director Bradley Day
Council Member Darren Adkison
Council Member Glen Ray Bowman
Council Member Jordan Hillis
Council Member Lorene Pearson
Council Member Joe Pennington
Council Member Jill Turner

City Facts

County: Little River

Population: 4,261

Senate District: 11

House District: 4

Congressional District: 4

Classification: First Class City

Contact Information

P.O. Box 135

Phone: (870) 898-2622

Fax: (870) 898-4322

Second Monday


School Districts

Online Services

State Online Services