Skip to Content
  • Facebook
  • Twitter
  • Flickr
  • YouTube
Search Again » Pulaski County Home » North Little Rock Home

North Little Rock

Known only as "opposite Little Rock" until the Civil War, North Little Rock grew as a crossroads that linked river and overland traffic. In 1866, surveyed and platted, an unincorporated town of mills, factories, hotels and saloons became known as the town of Argenta. In 1890, the community of Argenta filed papers to incorporate as a city. However, Argenta's southern neighbor, across the Arkansas River, quickly passed legislation to annex the little town and make it the eighth ward of that city. Years later a group of north side businessmen led by William C. Faucette (who was elected to the Arkansas state legislature) introduced a bill to allow a new city to be created by annexing the eighth ward of Little Rock. In 1903 North Little Rock and Argenta town residents voted to merge. Little Rock mounted a court challenge, but on February 6, 1904, the Arkansas Supreme Court ruled in favor of the 1903 merger of North Little Rock and Argenta (named for silver mines), with more than 8,000 residents. In January of 1906 North Little Rock changes its name to Argenta, but in October 1917 renamed itself back to North Little Rock.

City Officials

Position Name
Mayor Joe Smith
Clerk/treasurer Diane Whitbey
Assistant To Mayor Julie Fisher
Financial Director Ember Strange
District Judge Paula Jones
District Judge Randy Morley
City Attorney Amy Fields
Police Chief Tracy Roulston
Fire Chief Gerald Tucker
Director Of Public Works Chris Wilbourn
Loss Control Director Kenny Stephens
Sanitation Superintendent Condo Breedlove
Street Superintendent Patrick Lane
Wastewater Superintendent Marc Wilkins
City Engineer Chris Wilbourn
Code Enforcement Officer Tom Wadley
Economic Development Director Todd Larson
Information Technology Director John Barber
Planning Director Shawn Spencer
Parks, Recreation Director Terry Hartwick
Librarian Crystal Gates
Chief Of Staff Danny Bradley
Communications Director Jim Billings
Council Member Steve Baxter
Council Member Jane Ginn
Council Member Ron Harris
Council Member Charlie Hight
Council Member Linda Robinson
Council Member Debi Ross
Council Member Maurice Taylor
Council Member Beth White
Human Resources Director Betty Anderson

City Facts

County: Pulaski

Population: 62,304

Senate Districts: 29,30,32,34

House Districts: 14,35,36,37,38,39,41

Congressional District: 2

Classification: First Class City

Contact Information

P.O. Box 5757

Phone: (501) 975-8601

Fax: (501) 975-8633

Second and Fourth Monday

Web Site: Official Web Site


School Districts

Online Services

State Online Services