Skip to Content
  • Facebook
  • Twitter
  • Flickr
  • YouTube
Search Again » Fulton County Home » Mammoth Spring Home

Mammoth Spring

Mammoth Springs is right on the border to Missouri in Fulton County and has a population of 1,100 people.
Mammoth springs has been populated since 1836, when settlers came there and started to farm the land and they used the spring for milling. 14 years later, in 1850 Arkansas first geologist David Dale Owen passed by the area and became the one who got credit for discovered the spring. The town was known as "Head of River" until the railroad was built by Mammoth Springs, when it got the name that it has today.
In the 1880's the town started to exploit the spring as an attraction. The tourism was a boom for the small town. But the spring continued being used for the mill until 1944 and for generation of power from 1925 until 1972 for the Missouri-Arkansas Power Company. In 1957 Mammoth Springs became a state park.

City Officials

Position Name
Mayor Charles Vaughn
Recorder/treasurer June Grant
Assistant To Mayor Melissa Rogers
City Attorney Tom Garner
Police Chief Michael Davis
Fire Chief Casey Poulette
Director Of Public Works Steven Morris
Council Member Joan Baker
Council Member Larry Burns
Council Member Wilma Rogers

City Facts

County: Fulton

Population: 977

Senate District: 19

House District: 61

Congressional District: 1

Classification: Second Class City

Contact Information

P.O. Box 185

Phone: (870) 625-3518

Fax: (870) 625-7566

First Monday


School Districts

State Online Services

Contact Us
Arkansas Municipal League
Our Mission

The Arkansas Municipal League was founded in 1934 and exists for a threefold purpose:

  • to act as the official representative of Arkansas cities and towns before the state and federal governments;
  • to provide a clearinghouse for information and answers; and,
  • to offer a forum for discussion and sharing of mutual concerns.