• Facebook
  • Twitter
  • Flickr
  • YouTube
Search Again » Woodruff County Home » Augusta Home


Augusta is located on the White River, 220 feet above sea level. The population is about 2 500.

Augusta got its named after the niece of an early settler, Thomas Hough.

City Officials

Position Name
Mayor William Burl Simmons, Jr.
City Clerk Essie Nichols
Treasurer James Allen Miller
Personnel Director Kip Davis
District Judge John Eldridge, III
City Attorney Tim Watson
Police Chief Eric Morgan
Fire Chief Terry Shadwick
Sanitation Superintendent Billy Hollis
Water Superintendent Dwight Peebles
Wastewater Superintendent Charlotte Hitt
Council Member Bobby Brannon
Council Member Bobby Brown
Council Member Jeff Collins
Council Member Jon Ford
Council Member Dewitt Fortune
Council Member Perry Galloway
Council Member Deborah Ann Moore
Council Member Randy Spears, Sr.

City Facts

County: Woodruff

Population: 2,199

Senate District: 23

House District: 47

Congressional District: 1

Classification: First Class City

Contact Information

P.O. Box 502

Phone: (870) 347-5656

Fax: (870) 347-2436

Second Monday

Email: cityofaugusta@gmail.com

School Districts

State Online Services

Contact Us
Arkansas Municipal League
Our Mission

The Arkansas Municipal League was founded in 1934 and exists for a threefold purpose:

  • to act as the official representative of Arkansas cities and towns before the state and federal governments;
  • to provide a clearinghouse for information and answers; and,
  • to offer a forum for discussion and sharing of mutual concerns.