Municipal Website Manager graphic

Crittenden County

Crittenden County was formed October 22, 1825, and was the 12th county to be formed in Arkansas Territory and was named for Robert Crittenden. The county is a rich, delta farmland with the Mississippi River forming the eastern boundary. Marion is the county seat. The Mississippi River, two interstates, and three major railroads provide transportation options with Memphis just across the river. Years ago, when the Mississippi River changed its course, a natural lake was formed and it is now called Horseshoe Lake that features boating and water skiing. Wapanocca National Wildlife Refuge has 1,800 acres of freshwater impoundment that takes in a cypress-willow swamp teeming with wildlife. The largest manmade attraction in the county is the Southland Greyhound dog-racing park.

Cities in Crittenden County

Anthonyville  |  Clarkedale  |  Crawfordsville  |  Earle  |  Edmondson  |  Gilmore  |  Horseshoe Lake  |  Jennette  |  Jericho  |  Marion  |  Sunset  |  Turrell  |  West Memphis

County Facts

Population: 50,866

Contact Information

100 Court Square
Marion, AR 72364

Phone: (870) 739-3200

Fax: (870) 739-3072

Web Site: Web Site

School Districts




West Memphis

Online Services

Crittenden County Personal Property Tax

Crittenden County Real Estate Tax

State Online Services

Car Tag/Registration Renewals

Hunting and Fishing Licenses

Sex Offender Registry

Child Support Payments

Arkansas Vacation Kit

Arkansas Trails Search is provided through a partnership of INA and the Arkansas Municipal League

© 2014 Information Network of Arkansas.  All rights reserved.