Municipal Website Manager graphic

Arkansas City

Arkansas City, the county seat of Desha County, is located in the Mississippi River Delta which is the area where Europeans first crossed the Mississippi in 1541.

Arkansas City used to be a city with a population of about 15 000 and a prosperous commerce. But most of the city was ruined by the great flood in 1927. The lumber mills, homes and businesses were destroyed. The flood also moved the channel, that was the used for the ferryboat connection between Memphis and Vicksberg, one mile to the east, which was devestating for Arkansas City. The town has never come back to the same size that it had before the flood but hanks to that hard work of the citizens of Desha County, Arkansas City today has seven buildings listed on the National Register of Historical Places.

Arkansas City can be very proud of its public school system: the senior high school boasts of being among the best in Southeast Arkansas.

The population of Arkansas City is today c. 523 and the Potlatch Paper Mill provides the major source of income.

City Officials

Position Name
Mayor Carolyne Blissett
Recorder Sandra Irvin
Police Chief Stacy Cantrell
Street Superintendent Ricky Morgan
Water Superintendent Larry McMahan
Councilmember Curtis Gilbert
Councilmember Darlene King
Councilmember David Lison
Councilmember Rita Robinson

City Facts

County: Desha

Population: 366

Senate District: 26

House District: 11

Congressional District: 1

Classification: Incorporated Town

Contact Information

P.O. Box 369

Phone: (870) 877-2306

Fax: (870) 877-2306

Second Tuesday


Online Services

Desha County Hot Check Fine Payments

State Online Services

Car Tag/Registration Renewals

Hunting and Fishing Licenses

Sex Offender Registry

Child Support Payments

Arkansas Vacation Kit

Arkansas Trails Search is provided through a partnership of INA and the Arkansas Municipal League

© 2014 Information Network of Arkansas.  All rights reserved.